Do we really need our parents when we hit 30 or 40?

Standard

I woke up at 4 and couldn’t go back to sleep, despite being tired. Had a strange dream. Not so strange–just that my late dad was in it. And he was very fatherly, unlike the real him. It made me ponder, quarter asleep. It made me think that perhaps when our kids are my age, they’ll still need parents around, but not the same parents they need today. I think as a person grows, his or her need for a parent also grows. And that need grows perhaps according to Maslow’s hierarchy of needs. Just as in Maslow’s, in the beginning, we need basics like to be fed and sheltered. Then we grow and our needs evolve through Maslow’s pyramid. Perhaps what we need at my age from a father figure is affirmation and recognition (the near-top need in Maslow’s hierarchy of needs).

Leave a Reply

